Sedins and Luongo are the Canucks going into Hockey Hall of Fame

Not one, not two, but three Vancouver Canucks alumni are going into the Hockey Hall of Fame.
Just after noon on Monday, the Hockey Hall of Fame announced its inductees for the 2022 class.

For the Canucks, Henrik and Daniel Sedin and Roberto Luongo are going to be immortalized as part of the best in hockey. The ceremony will take place sometime later this year.

Along with the Sedins and Luongo going into the Hall of Fame are Ottawa Senators all-time leading scorer Daniel Alfredsson, Finnish women’s hockey legend Riika Sallinen and in the Builders Category, the late Herb Carnegie who started one of the first hockey schools in Canada int he 1950s.

Saturday was the anniversary of the Sedins becoming drafted together at the 1999 NHL Entry Draft. Then-General Manager Brian Burke made a series of trades to draft the twins together. They were drafted together, they played their entire career together and now are going into the Hockey Hall of Fame together.

The Sedins played 18 years in the NHL, all with the Canucks. They also hold numerous franchise records. Henrik is Vancouver’s all-time leader in points with 1070, assists with 830 and games played with 1330. Daniel is the Canucks’ all-time leader in goals with 393, power play goals with 138 and regular season overtime goals with 16.

Henrik won the Art Ross Trophy as the NHL’s leading scorer in 2009-10 and Daniel won it the year after. They are the only Canucks to win the scoring title to date. Henrik also won the Hart Memorial Trophy in 2010 as the NHL’s MVP. He is the only Canuck to win that award and was the team’s captain from 2010 until his and Daniel’s retirement in 2018.

The Twins wowed fans all over the league with Henrik’s passing and Daniel’s scoring. They were masters of the cycle and have had many dominant shifts over the years.

There are plenty of great Sedin moments to choose from. They include Henrik’s no-look pass to Daniel which resulted in a between-the-legs goal against the Calgary Flames in 2010 and “the shift” against the Edmonton Oilers in 2007.

Luongo played for the Canucks from 2006 to 2014. He first arrived in a blockbuster trade from the Florida Panthers before the 2006 draft which was held in Vancouver. Despite not playing his entire career in Vancouver, Luongo is the best goaltender in franchise history.

He is the Canucks all-time leader in wins with 252 and shutouts with 38. Luongo also has 489 career wins and that is fourth all-time in the NHL only behind Martin Brodeur, Patrick Roy and Marc-Andre Fleury.

Luongo also holds the Canucks record for most wins in a season with 47 in 2006-07 and most saves in a single game with 72 on April 11, 2007, which was game one of the Canucks first-round series against the Dallas Stars. Vancouver won that game 5-4 in four overtimes in which the winner was scored by Henrik Sedin.

Luongo made numerous great saves over the years but probably his best one was a save off Patrick Sharp in game 7 against the Chicago Blackhawks in overtime in 2011.

Luongo reacted to the announcement on Twitter.

Both the Sedins and Luongo were vital parts of the Canucks glory years. Sadly, they have not won a Stanley Cup but the Sedins won Olympic gold for Sweden at the Turin 2006 Winter Olympics and Luongo won gold for Canada at the Vancouver 2010 Games and the Sochi 2014 Games.

The Sedins and Luongo join five other former Canucks in the Hockey Hall of Fame. They are Pavel Bure, Igor Larionov, Mark Messier, Cam Neely and Mats Sundin. However, Bure is the one that really counts.