Canucks defenceman Quinn Hughes needs fans to vote to get into the ASG

Vancouver Canucks forward Elias Pettersson was named to the All Star Game earlier today, but is the lone representative for Vancouver.

The last time the Vancouver Canucks sent two players to the All Star Game was back in 2012 when both Daniel and Henrik Sedin were on the ASG roster. Yeah, it has really been that long.

Who better to be the next Canucks duo to take to the big stage than the team’s new franchise center Elias Pettersson and star rookie defenceman Quinn Hughes? Maybe Brock Boeser and Pettersson will get to go together, but for now, the focus is entirely on getting Hughes to the game in January.

The way for Hughes to get in will be through the “Last Man In” fan voting. Last year, when Pettersson was the lone candidate from the Canucks, Brock Boeser was an eligible “Last Man In” for the Pacific Division but was outvoted by Edmonton Oilers forward Leon Draisatl who got to join teammate Connor McDavid in San Jose thanks to the fan vote.

This year, Hughes is joined by Ryan Getzlaf, Clayton Keller, Johnny Gaudreau, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Drew Doughty, Tomas Hertl, and Max Pacioretty as potential nominees to be the final player selected to join Team Pacific Division at the All-Star Game in St. Louis.

As of now, the Pacific Division roster features just one defenceman, Mark Giordano of the Calgary Flames. The 36-year-old Giordano was snubbed from the All-Star Game last year, but with just 19 points on the season, some fans found it odd that he was selected for the All Star festivities over Hughes.

Hughes is a budding young defenceman who as Canucks fans know, is incredibly exciting to watch, especially at 3-on-3. Also left on the outside looking in, hoping to be voted as the last man in of the Central Division, is fellow rookie defenceman Cale Makar.

Want your voice heard? Join the The Canuck Way team!

Write for us!

In my opinion, both defencemen are sensational and should be at this game. You can vote Hughes into the All Star Game beginning on January 1st!