Sep 26, 2013; Vancouver, British Columbia, CAN; Vancouver Canucks forward Henrik Sedin (33) is congratulated by forward Ryan Kesler (17) and defenseman Kevin Bieksa (3) and defenseman Alexander Edler (23) and forward Daniel Sedin (22) after scoring against New York Rangers goaltender Henrik Lundqvist (30) (not pictured) during the first period at Rogers Arena. Mandatory Credit: Anne-Marie Sorvin-USA TODAY Sports

EA Sports' NHL 14 Predicts 2nd Place for the Vancouver Canucks

EA Sports has simulated the upcoming season using NHL 14 and they predict a second place finish for the Vancouver Canucks in the newly minted Pacific Division.

Pacific Division:

In the Pacific Division, three playoff regulars cracked the NHL’s second season with the L.A. Kings laying claim to the new division’s inaugural title. The Edmonton Oilers finally made good on their wealth of prospects, picking up a Wild Card berth.

  1. L.A. Kings – 100 pts
  2. Vancouver Canucks – 93 pts
  3. San Jose Sharks – 90 pts
  4. Edmonton Oilers – 89 pts – Wild Card
  5. Anaheim Ducks – 85 pts
  6. Phoenix Coyotes – 84 pts
  7. Calgary Flames – 75 pts

Under the new playoff format, the the top-three teams in each division make the playoffs and the fourth is a wild card spot. It means in the simulated season, the Canucks would be facing the San Jose Sharks in the Division Semi-Finals—a rematch of last season’s first round matchup.

The St. Louis Blues would eventually emerge out of the Western Conference and claim the Stanley Cup over the Pittsburgh Penguins.

The simulation also predicted NHL award winners. However, it had no Canucks player taking home any hardware.


  • Stanley Cup: St. Louis Blues
  • Presidents’ Trophy: Chicago Blackhawks (CHI)
  • Conn Smythe Trophy: Alex Pietrangelo (STL)
  • Hart Memorial Trophy: Sidney Crosby  (PIT)
  • Art Ross Trophy: Sidney Crosby (PIT)
  • James Norris Memorial Trophy: Duncan Keith (CHI)
  • Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy: Steven Stamkos  (TBL)
  • Vezina Trophy: Tuukka Rask (BOS)
  • Frank J. Selke Trophy: Jonathan Toews (CHI)
  • Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Pavel Datsyuk (DET)
  • Calder Memorial Trophy: Jonathan Drouin (TBL)
  • Ted Lindsay: Sidney Crosby(PIT)

Last year, EA Sports did a week-by-week simulation of an 82-game 2012-13 season between October 11, 2012 and January 16, 2013. It awarded the Penguins the Stanley Cup and had the Canucks winning their third consecutive Presidents’ Trophy.

Next Canucks Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov8:00at Edmonton OilersBuy Tickets

Tags: NHL 14 Vancouver Canucks

comments powered by Disqus