Jan 15, 2012; Vancouver, British Columbia,CANADA; The opening of the game between the Anaheim Ducks and the Vancouver Canucks at Rogers Arena. The Anaheim Ducks won 4-2. Mandatory Credit: Anne-Marie Sorvin-USA TODAY Sports

NHLPA Approves Realignment: Vancouver Canucks to Pacific Division

The Vancouver Canucks will move into the Pacific Division next season and the Northwest Division will cease to exist under the National Hockey League’s realignment proposal.

The NHL Players’ Association gave its approval to realignment earlier Thursday and the NHL Board of Governors will vote on the proposal within a week to make it official.

“After discussions with the Executive Board, the NHLPA has given consent to realignment, to be re-evaluated following the 2014-15 season,” said Executive Director Don Fehr in a statement.

Under the new alignment, there will be two conferences and two divisions in each. The Canucks will be part of the Pacific Division in the Western Conference with the Anaheim Ducks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, Los Angeles Kings, Phoenix Coyotes, and San Jose Sharks.

The top three teams in each division will make the playoffs and a fourth “wildcard” team will make it in each division. The two teams with the best records in each conference after the six teams in playoff spots will take a wildcard spot in each division.

Western Conference   Eastern Conference  
Pacific Division
Midwest Division Central Division Atlantic Division
Anaheim Chicago Boston Carolina
Calgary Colorado Buffalo Columbus
Edmonton Dallas Detroit New Jersey
Los Angeles Minnesota Florida NY Islanders
Phoenix Nashville Montreal NY Rangers
San Jose St. Louis Ottawa Philadelphia
Vancouver Winnipeg Tampa Bay Pittsburgh
Toronto Washington

Next Canucks Game Full schedule »
Friday, Oct 2424 Oct7:00at Colorado AvalancheBuy Tickets

Tags: Vancouver Canucks

comments powered by Disqus