Jan 27, 2013; San Jose, CA, USA; Vancouver Canucks center Alex Burrows (14) is escorted to the penalty box during the third period against the San Jose Sharks at HP Pavilion. The San Jose Sharks defeated the Vancouver Canucks 4-1. Mandatory Credit: Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

Burrows Shootout Attempt Would Have Counted


Vancouver Canucks winger Alexandre Burrows‘ shootout attempt would have counted if he scored, according to a tweet from the Province’s Jason Botchford.

The move saw Burrows move in on Los Angeles Kings goaltender Jonathan Quickstopping and doing a spin-o-rama without the puck. Burrows then continued by picking up the puck doing a couple of small dekes before ringing it off the post.

Had Burrows scored, the goal would have counted because the puck was still “in motion” and forward movement was not stopped. Yahoo Sports’ Puck Daddy blog pulled this from the NHL rulebook:

The puck must be kept in motion towards the opponent’s goal line and once it is shot, the play shall be considered complete.

… The spin-o-rama type move where the player completes a 360° turn as he approaches the goal, shall be permitted as this involves continuous motion.

It seems like a move Burrows studied the rulebook before attempting, but we won’t be seeing him attempting that move again for awhile with everyone talking about it.

Tags: Alex Burrows Vancouver Canucks