Mar 20, 2012; Toronto, ON, Canada; Fans of the Toronto Maple Leafs before their game against the New York Islanders at the Air Canada Centre. The Islanders beat the Maple Leafs 5-2. Mandatory Credit: Tom Szczerbowski-US PRESSWIRE

Team History Series: Toronto Maple Leafs

In this installment of my Team History Series, we explore the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Based in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, the Maple Leafs play in the Air Canada Centre, and have done so since 1999.  The arena is located at 40 Bay Street, Toronto, ON (Canada) M5J2x2.  Before play started here, the team played at the Maple Leaf Gardens from 1931-1999.

The team is one of the original 6 that formed the NHL, but didn’t start out as the Maple Leafs.  In November 1917, the team was founded as the Toronto Arenas.  In 1919, after playing as the Arenas, the team changed their name to the Toronto St. Patricks, and played with the name until 1927.  The Toronto Maple Leafs have played with the name ever since.

Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment, Ltd. are the owners, and Larry Tanenbaum is Chairman.  Brian Burke is General Manager, Randy Carlyle is Head Coach, and Dion Phaneuf is Captain.


The Maple Leafs has the record for the team with no Stanley Cup wins in over 45 years, and is the longest in the NHL.  However, the team is the most valuable hockey team, and worth 521 million (as recorded in 2011).  The New York Rangers and the Montreal Canadiens follow them… respectively.

Stanley Cups were won in 1918, 1922, 1932, 1942, 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1951, 1962, 1963, 1964, and 1967.

The team hasn’t won the President Trophy, and any Conference Championships.

Division Championships have been won in 1933, 1934, 1935, 1938, and 2000.

The American Hockey League (AHL)’s Toronto Marlies, and the Reading Royals of the East Coast Hockey League (ECHL) are the Minor League Affiliates.


Next Canucks Game Full schedule »
Thursday, Oct 2323 Oct7:00at St. Louis BluesBuy Tickets

comments powered by Disqus