April 19, 2012; San Jose, CA, USA; St. Louis Blues center Andy McDonald (10) is congratulated by teammates after scoring a goal against the San Jose Sharks during the third period in game four of the 2012 Western Conference quarterfinals at HP Pavilion. St. Louis defeated San Jose 2-1. Mandatory Credit: Jason O. Watson-US PRESSWIRE

Team History Series: St. Louis Blues

Earlier this summer… in Las Vegas, Nevada at the 2012 NHL awards…  Legendary Head Coach Ken Hitchcock of the St. Louis Blues won the prestigious Jack Adams award.  General Manager Doug Armstrong won the General Manager of the Year award.

Tonight…  we visit the St. Louis Blues in my Team History Series.

The team was born as part of the 1967 NHL expansion when the league expanded from the original six to twelve teams.  The team is named after the W.C. Handy song of the same name.  This team has always been based in St. Louis, MO.

While the Blues have won Division titles for the 1980-1981, 1984-1985, 1986-1987, 1999-2000, and 2011-2012… they haven’t won any Conference titles.  They have the distinction of also being the only team, from the 1967 expansion to not win a Stanley Cup.  However, they won a President’s Trophy for the 1999-2000 season.

The team is owned by SLB Acquisition Holdings, and Tom Stillman is the Chairman of the Board.  The team’s Captain is  David Backes who took over the captaincy from Tampa Bay Lightning player, Eric Brewer after he was traded by the St. Louis Blues in February 2011.

The teams only affiliate is the Peoria Rivermen of the American Hockey League or the AHL.

The team plays at an arena that started out as the Keil Center, but is now known as the Scottrade Center, 1401 Clark Avenue, St. Louis, MO 63103.  The main number is 314-622-5400.


Next Canucks Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov8:00at Edmonton OilersBuy Tickets

comments powered by Disqus