April 22, 2012; Vancouver, BC, CANADA; General view of Rogers Arena before game five of the 2012 Western Conference quarterfinals between the Los Angeles Kings and the Vancouver Canucks. Mandatory Credit: Anne-Marie Sorvin-US PRESSWIRE

Team History Series: Vancouver Canucks

This is the next installment in my Team History Series…

In 1970, the Vancouver Canucks started playing in the National Hockey League or NHL.  What fans don’t realize is the team started playing in the Pacific Coast Hockey League or PCHL.  From 1945-1952, the team played in this league until they moved to the Western Hockey League Minor Pro or WHL.  From 1952-1970, the Canucks were granted the opportunity to play in the NHL, along with the Buffalo Sabres, when the NHL expanded from 12 to 14 teams.

The Canucks play in Rogers Arena, which is the former General Motors Place, in Vancouver, British Columbia.

President Trophies have been back to back in 2011 and 2012.  Western Conference Championships were won in 1982, 1994, and 2012. Northwest Division Championships were won 9 times in 1975, 1992, 1993, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012. The Canucks have made in 3 times to the Stanley Cup Finals. In 1982, they loss to the New York Islanders. In 1994, the loss came at the sticks and pucks of the New York Rangers. Most recently, and everyone remembers what happened afterwards in 2011 when the Canucks loss to the Boston Bruins.

Mike Gillis is the General Manager, Alain Vigneault is Head Coach, and Henrik Sedin is their Captain.  Minor League Affiliates are the Chicago Wolves of the American Hockey League (AHL), and the Kalamazoo Wings of the East Coast Hockey League (ECHL). The owner is Francesco Aquilini (Chairman) of Canucks Sports and Entertainment.

THIS IS WHAT WE LIVE FOR is their current motto.


Next Canucks Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov8:00at Edmonton OilersBuy Tickets

comments powered by Disqus